Pairings: The Bible and Booze

Photo credit: Kelsea Gust

“Matthew Anderson’s offering of vintage biblical texts paired with alcoholic and alcohol-free drinks reveals a rich complexity of scholarship while remaining satisfyingly easy on the palate. Pairings opens up generous undertones of prophetic justice and full-bodied humour.”

“Whether it be the book of Ruth, the Gospel of Matthew, or the Psalms of Contrition, peppery life observations and fragrant historical notes are kept superbly balanced, allowing a satisfyingly long finish of scriptural understanding”

CBC Radio One interview with Sonali Karnick here

To Order

photo: K Falk

Canada

Order from Novalis Press here.

photo: M Nelson

The United States

Order from Twenty-Third Publications here.

photo: M Warren

U.K. & Europe

Order from Redemptorist Press here.

Bientôt! Apocalypse et gin-tonic (transl. Sabrina di Matteo) the French-language version of Pairings. février 2022.

“Matthew Anderson proves himself as the bartender of biblical bevvies, offering a refreshing spiritual spritzer for the 21st century. His biblical boozy pairings are a sparkling cocktail of insight, wisdom and humour.”

Dr. Katie Edwards, author, broadcaster, columnist and biblical scholar

Dr. Matthew R. Anderson has taught Biblical Studies at Concordia University Montreal, the University of Nottingham, UK, and the Montreal School of Theology. He is an associate professor (adjunct) at Concordia University, and an ordained Lutheran minister. Pairings is his first book.


In the tradition of Robert Farrar Capon, Pairings offers us a feast of the senses as Anderson connects the local with the biblical in his pairings of drinks and scripture. This book throws together the ingredients of history and pop culture; oppression and the promise of deliverance; as well as a generous sharing of diverse scholarship.

The Rev. Aaron Billard, Digital Abbot of the Unvirtuous Abbey


A thoughtful, well-written review of Pairings by the Winnipeg Free Press’s John Longhurst, available as PDF below or online here.

Click here for a Novalis Q&A with the author about Pairings!

Book Talks:

To watch the “Prayers and Pints” event, click here